Newman News

Published on Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Announcement: Appointment of new Academic Dean

Photo Credit: Ms. Maya Clubine

Newman Theological College is proud to announce the appointment of Dr. Pablo Irizar as the College’s Academic Dean effective 1 July, 2023. He has held the endowed Kennedy Smith Chair of Catholic Studies at McGill University in Montreal since 2021 and served as the Executive Director of the Newman Centre at McGill and Coordinator of the Newman Institute of Catholic Studies since 2019. He has been a visiting professor at Adam Mickiewicz University in Poland and an Adjunct Professor at St. Mark’s and Corpus Christi College in Vancouver, B.C.

Dr. Irizar has a Ph.D. in Theology from the Catholic University of Leuven in Belgium and a Ph.D. in Philosophy from the Institut Catholique de Paris. He is a prolific scholar having written several books including Augustine on Identity, the Image of God and the Church (Berlin: DeGruyter, forthcoming 2023); The Metamorphosis of Love: Body, Word and Free Will in On the Song of Songs by Bernard of Clairvaux (Paderborn: Brill and Fink, forthcoming 2023); Augustine on Distance, Belonging, Isolation and the Quarantined Church of Today (London: Bloomsbury Academic Publishing, 2022); and John Henry Newman on the Life of Ideas, Constructive Change, Character Development and the Limits of Progress (London: Bloomsbury Academic Publishing, forthcoming 2023).

The College’s President Dr. Jason West commented, “We are excited to welcome a scholar of Dr. Irizar’s stature to Newman Theological College as Academic Dean. He will bring substantial scholarly depth to the role as well as great experience from his success at growing the Catholic Studies program at McGill.”

The Academic Dean is the Chief Academic Officer of the College and is responsible for leading the faculty, delivering and developing the College’s programming and academic assessment.

Comments (0)Number of views (1244)

Author: Danielle Godin

Categories: News Release




News History

2021-June-21 Change of Director of Religious Education, SK

2021-February-16 - NTC Welcomes New Philosophy Professor, Mr. Francis Fast

2020-October-01 - Leader, humanitarian and philanthropist Neil Koziak named recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2019-June-10 - David & Cathy Bouchard are first joint recipients of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2018-February-09 - Newman Theological College welcomes relocation of Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Seminary to Edmonton

2017-December-21 - Respected Scripture scholar Stéphane Saulnier promoted to rank of Professor

2017-September-15 - Dr. Ryan Topping appointed Vice-President and Academic Dean

2017-July-25 - Sandra Prather to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2017-February-23 - The Association of Theological Schools’ Commission on Accrediting reaffirms the Accreditation of Newman Theological College for a period of seven years.

2016-July-11 - Joyce Tutt named to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2016-May-11 - Newman Theological College Announces the Appointment of a New Academic Dean

2015-July-06 - Glen Argan named to receive Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2015-June-12 - NTC honours Dr. Robert McKeon as Professor Emeritus

2014-January-25 - Newman Theological College launches Benedict XVI Institute for New Evangelization

2014-September-08 - Newman Theological College announces 2014 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Marc Barylo

2013-October-19 - NTC honours Msgr. Frank Patsula and Dr. Gwen Miller as Professors Emeriti

2013-March-21 - Revised Certificate in Catholic Studies Program (C.C.S.)

2013-March-18 - Revised Masters of Religious Education Program (M.R.E.)

2013-February-28 - New Partner joining EXCEL Academy

2013-August-27 - Newman Theological College announces 2013 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Mary Molloy

2012-October-24 - New Leadership at Newman Theological College

2012-June-22 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2012 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Dr. Kae Neufeld, D. Min.

2011-July-20 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2011 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Rosanna M. Saccomani, Q.C.

«June 2023»