Newman News

Published on Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Dr. Ryan Topping Awarded Platinum Jubilee Medal

Dr. Ryan Topping, Vice President of Newman Theological College, was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal by Lieutenant Governor Salma Lakhani at a ceremony on September 27, 2022. Premier Jason Kenny was also present at the ceremony to welcome and congratulate recipients. Topping was one of 48 Albertans honoured that day by the Lieutenant Governor, which also included the Premier’s official renaming of the Federal Building in downtown Edmonton to the Queen Elizabeth II Building.

(L-R) Dr. Ryan Topping, Philip Topping, Premier Jason Kenney, and Mrs. Anna Topping

“I was truly humbled to hear that I would receive this award,” said Dr. Topping. “It was an honour to be in the company of so many marvelous Albertans who have displayed a life of service to our province in a wide range of endeavours.” The Lieutenant Governor’s award letter presented to Dr. Topping noted that the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal was established “to recognize the outstanding service of Albertans who have done much to build and enhance our Province. You are among this distinguished group.”


Each recipient had their citation read aloud as they stepped forward to receive the award from the Lieutenant Governor. Dr. Topping’s noted, in part, his doctoral work at the University of Oxford, and his service as Professor and Vice-President at Newman Theological College in Edmonton.

“This award is one that recognizes our entire academic community which has for years made important contributions in education and ministry to our Province and region,” said Dr. Topping. “I share this public recognition with all our students, staff, faculty, Board, and benefactors.”

Dr. Jason West, President of Newman, echoed these sentiments: “Dr. Topping’s receipt of the Queen’s Jubilee medal is a testament both to his outstanding work in his field, as well as to the significant contribution that our college makes to the life of many in Alberta.”

Dr. West is honoured to have been selected for the Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal as well. He will accept the award on October 6th, 2022, in a ceremony held in Calgary, Alberta.”

The commemorative medal was initiated to mark the 70th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal is a practical way for Albertans to honour Her Majesty’s service to Canada.

Five previous commemorative medals have been established to acknowledge notable contributions by Canadians in the Queen’s name: for the Centennial of Confederation (1967), Silver Jubilee (1977), 125th Anniversary of Confederation (1992), Gold Jubilee (2002), and, Diamond Jubilee (2012). Medals are awarded to individuals who have made a positive impact and significant contributions to society.

Comments (0)Number of views (480)

Author: Danielle Godin

Categories: News Release




News History

2021-June-21 Change of Director of Religious Education, SK

2021-February-16 - NTC Welcomes New Philosophy Professor, Mr. Francis Fast

2020-October-01 - Leader, humanitarian and philanthropist Neil Koziak named recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2019-June-10 - David & Cathy Bouchard are first joint recipients of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2018-February-09 - Newman Theological College welcomes relocation of Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Seminary to Edmonton

2017-December-21 - Respected Scripture scholar Stéphane Saulnier promoted to rank of Professor

2017-September-15 - Dr. Ryan Topping appointed Vice-President and Academic Dean

2017-July-25 - Sandra Prather to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2017-February-23 - The Association of Theological Schools’ Commission on Accrediting reaffirms the Accreditation of Newman Theological College for a period of seven years.

2016-July-11 - Joyce Tutt named to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2016-May-11 - Newman Theological College Announces the Appointment of a New Academic Dean

2015-July-06 - Glen Argan named to receive Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2015-June-12 - NTC honours Dr. Robert McKeon as Professor Emeritus

2014-January-25 - Newman Theological College launches Benedict XVI Institute for New Evangelization

2014-September-08 - Newman Theological College announces 2014 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Marc Barylo

2013-October-19 - NTC honours Msgr. Frank Patsula and Dr. Gwen Miller as Professors Emeriti

2013-March-21 - Revised Certificate in Catholic Studies Program (C.C.S.)

2013-March-18 - Revised Masters of Religious Education Program (M.R.E.)

2013-February-28 - New Partner joining EXCEL Academy

2013-August-27 - Newman Theological College announces 2013 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Mary Molloy

2012-October-24 - New Leadership at Newman Theological College

2012-June-22 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2012 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Dr. Kae Neufeld, D. Min.

2011-July-20 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2011 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Rosanna M. Saccomani, Q.C.

«November 2022»