Newman News

Published on Tuesday, December 21, 2021

Announcement: Dr. Ryan Topping and the Benedict XVI Institute

Dear NTC Community,

As I announced recently, the College will be launching its new Pathways in Ministry project through the Benedict XVI Institute, thanks to a generous grant from the Lilly Endowment’s Pathways for Tomorrow Initiative. This is an important initiative and will demand significant attention to ensure its implementation is a success.

Accordingly, I have asked Dr. Ryan Topping to transition from his role as Academic Dean in order to take on an expanded role as Director of the College’s Benedict XVI Institute. Dr. Topping has made key contributions to the work to date and is the ideal candidate to lead the implementation of this grant project. I am pleased that he has very graciously agreed to take on this new challenge.

Effective 1 January 2022, Dr. Topping will commence work as Director of the Benedict XVI Institute. He will continue in his role as Vice-President of the College until a new Vice-President and Academic Dean are appointed. I will assume the responsibilities of Academic Dean while the College works to initiate a recruitment process for a new Dean.

This 3 year Pathways in Ministry project involves several related initiatives including: academic research on the state of vocations in Canada, developing a network of Catholic agencies and school districts to identify and develop relations with young people that may have vocations to the priesthood, religious life or lay ecclesial ministry, and the development of formational opportunities and transformational spiritual events for youth.

I am excited to continue working with Dr. Topping in this new role. His prolific scholarship, organizational skills and passion for the evangelic mission of the Church make him well suited to implementing this ambitious project.

In Christ,

Jason West, Ph.D. President & Vice-Chancellor

Comments (0)Number of views (1112)

Author: MichelleNTC

Categories: News Release



Documents to download


News History

2021-June-21 Change of Director of Religious Education, SK

2021-February-16 - NTC Welcomes New Philosophy Professor, Mr. Francis Fast

2020-October-01 - Leader, humanitarian and philanthropist Neil Koziak named recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2019-June-10 - David & Cathy Bouchard are first joint recipients of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2018-February-09 - Newman Theological College welcomes relocation of Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Seminary to Edmonton

2017-December-21 - Respected Scripture scholar Stéphane Saulnier promoted to rank of Professor

2017-September-15 - Dr. Ryan Topping appointed Vice-President and Academic Dean

2017-July-25 - Sandra Prather to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2017-February-23 - The Association of Theological Schools’ Commission on Accrediting reaffirms the Accreditation of Newman Theological College for a period of seven years.

2016-July-11 - Joyce Tutt named to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2016-May-11 - Newman Theological College Announces the Appointment of a New Academic Dean

2015-July-06 - Glen Argan named to receive Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2015-June-12 - NTC honours Dr. Robert McKeon as Professor Emeritus

2014-January-25 - Newman Theological College launches Benedict XVI Institute for New Evangelization

2014-September-08 - Newman Theological College announces 2014 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Marc Barylo

2013-October-19 - NTC honours Msgr. Frank Patsula and Dr. Gwen Miller as Professors Emeriti

2013-March-21 - Revised Certificate in Catholic Studies Program (C.C.S.)

2013-March-18 - Revised Masters of Religious Education Program (M.R.E.)

2013-February-28 - New Partner joining EXCEL Academy

2013-August-27 - Newman Theological College announces 2013 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Mary Molloy

2012-October-24 - New Leadership at Newman Theological College

2012-June-22 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2012 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Dr. Kae Neufeld, D. Min.

2011-July-20 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2011 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Rosanna M. Saccomani, Q.C.

«September 2022»