Certificate in Eastern Christian Traditions

The Certificates in Eastern Christian Traditions includes six courses each, of approximately 25 hours over a five-week period. Each course requires that you complete readings and assignments, and participate in online discussions.


  • General Interest in your personal faith formation
  • Volunteer catechists
  • Catholic school teachers
  • Pastoral Assistants in the parishes
  • Those enrolled in the Certificate in Diaconate and Lay Formation (Ukrainian Catholic Stream - Year I)
  • Others whose ministry would be enriched by formal certification in this field

Certificate in Eastern Christian Traditions I (EASI)


CCS-046 The Theology of Eastern Christianity Part I
CCS-047 The Theology of Eastern Christianity Part II
CCS-048 Worship and Spirituality of Eastern Catholic Churches
CCS-049 Praying with Icons
CCS-050 The Holy Mysteries: An Introduction
CCS-002 Scripture

To complete this certificate in an academic year students must register for the courses in the following order.
(This does not apply to those who take more than one course per cycle and Certificates are not required to be completed within a year.)

Cycle 1 - CCS-002

Cycle 2 - CCS-046

Cycle 3 - CCS-047

Cycle 4 - CCS-048

Cycle 5 - CCS-050

Cycle 6 - CCS-049