Newman Theological College
Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

September 12, 2014

Newman Theological College announces 2014 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian

Leadership Award - Marc Barylo

Edmonton -

A man known for his boundless energy, his passion for serving the poor and marginalized, and his love of the Church is being honoured by Newman Theological College.

Marc Barylo has been named as this year’s recipient of the Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award. The award, named for the first layperson to serve as president of the college, recognizes individuals whose outstanding Christian leadership reflects the values of the college and the qualities that Carr cherished and exhibited in his work as president.

Marc is well known for his 30 years of work at Catholic Social Services, but the Carr Award particularly recognizes service to the community beyond the workplace. An active member of St. Joseph’s Basilica Parish, Marc has chaired the Liturgy Committee since 1980 and is a former chair of the parish pastoral council. He served as Master of Ceremonies for Archbishops Joseph MacNeil and Thomas Collins, and has trained generations of young altar servers. His organizational and leadership gifts have been lent to many major liturgical events at the Basilica, including the the visit of Pope John Paul II in 1984, installations of Archbishops, the wedding of Wayne Gretzky in 1988, and more recently, five years of Nothing More Beautiful evenings.

Marc has served on the board of the Edmonton Christmas Bureau, and each year has supervised the production and delivery of hundreds of Christmas hampers to needy households. He has also served the poorest of the poor overseas through the Philippines Self-Help Project, which has helped lift residents of the Payatas dumpsite near Manila out of hopeless poverty.

Father Mike McCaffery, one of the nominators for this year’s winner, calls Marc an integral member of Edmonton’s Catholic community.

“Marc is known not only for his leadership skills—which are exceptional—but also for his fearless passion and his genuine desire to effect positive change in the lives those who are marginalized or impoverished,” Father Mike wrote in his nomination. “He is generous in giving his time to help others and listens without judgment. His roots in the Catholic Church run deep, and his faith informs his every action.”

Sister Annata Brockman, another nominator, said it’s impossible to measure the contributions Marc has made as a volunteer at the Basilica. Whenever there was a major event, she wrote, “all I had to do was call Marc, and I knew everything would fall into place.”

Archbishop Emeritus Joseph MacNeil described Marc as “an outstanding lay leader and model Catholic.” He wrote that Marc brought to his work “an abiding commitment to Jesus Christ, a life-long experience of prayer, plus a sincere and practical love of neighbour, especially the marginalized and oppressed.”

This year’s winner is perhaps as well known for his humility as for his accomplishments, as evidenced in 2010, when he received the Western Catholic Reporter’s Worker in the Vineyard Award for outstanding Christian service.

"Anything I do that is good or positive is because of God's grace,” he said then. “It's certainly not because of me."

Marc Barylo will be honoured at the 11th Annual Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award Luncheon on October 30 at Santa Maria Goretti Community Centre.


Who is Kevin Carr?

Kevin Carr (see photo below) was the seventh president of Newman Theological College, from 1993-2001. He was the first layperson appointed to this position and during his tenure he was involved in a major restructuring and renewal of the College. Committed to a life of service, Carr’s accomplishments include an extensive record of contributions to religious and professional organizations and to the broader community in a variety of roles. He most recently was a lead member on the team to perform the self-study for reaccreditation with the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.

What is the purpose of the award?

The Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award exists to recognize and honour an individual whose outstanding Christian Leadership reflects the values of Newman Theological College and the qualities that Kevin Carr cherished and exhibited in his work as President.

Who is eligible to receive the award?

Any person who has provided significant leadership toward creating a Christian culture, and whose leadership efforts have had a positive and lasting impact in western and northern Canada.

Who is eligible to nominate?

Nominations are invited from individuals, businesses, organizations and community groups.

How do I nominate someone for the award?

Simply fill out the official 2014 nomination form and attach it to the support material described in this brochure. Please refer to the checklist at the end of the brochure to ensure all items have been completed and are included in your nomination package.

Previous Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award Recipients

2013 Recipient - Mary Molloy
2012 Recipient - Dr. Kae Neufeld
2011 Recipient - Ms. Rosanna Saccomani, Q.C.
2010 Recipient - Mr. Ben Hochhausen
2009 Recipient - Sr. Annata Brockman
2008 Recipient - Mr. Don Zinyk
2007 Recipient - Hon. Douglas Roche, O.C.
2006 Recipient - Mr. Tim Spelliscy
2005 Recipient - Mr. Ernest Chauvet
2004 Recipient - The Honourable Jean Forest