Newman Theological College
Accreditation and Governance



Newman Theological College (NTC) is accredited by The Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (ATS).

NTC is considered a non-affiliated private college within the post-secondary educational system of Alberta. It has been empowered to confer academic degrees, diplomas and certificates in the field of religious sciences. The charter was granted on April 29, 1969, during the second session of the 16th Legislature (Private Bill #4). In 1972 NTC became an associate member of the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).

In 1988 NTC was granted the status of candidacy in view of a self-study and ATS visitation. Initial accreditation as a member of the ATS was granted in January 1992. Accreditation was extended in 1996 and again in 2007. We are accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, and the following degree programs are approved:

  • Master of Divinity (M.Div.)
  • Master of Religious Education (M.R.E.)
  • Master of Theological Studies (M.T.S.)
  • Master of Theology (M.Th.)

The Commission contact information is:
The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada
10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Telephone: 412-788-6505
Fax: 412-788-6510

The college offers other programs, not accredited by the ATS, which are appropriate expressions of the College’s mission and offer important opportunities for initial ministerial formation and personal enrichment. These programs include the following:

  • Certificate in Catholic Studies (C.C.S.)
  • Certificate of Theology (C.Th.)
  • Diploma of Theology (Dip.Th.)
  • Bachelor of Theology (B.Th.)
  • Graduate Certificate in Catholic School Administration (G.C.C.S.A.)

The Mission Statement, which was reconfirmed by the Board of Governors in June 2007, continues to guide the life of the College.

The ATS acknowledged the College for its commitment to enculturation. The Enculturation program for priests who have recently emigrated to Canada addresses language comprehension, issues relevant to immigrants, and pastoral ministry in the Canadian context and demonstrates an assurance by the College to respond to the needs of the Church in Western Canada.

The College gives priority to the over-arching goal of developing theological understanding. The programs have clearly articulated goals and objectives, exhibit educational integrity, and are directed towards accomplishing the College’s mission. The rich variety of graduate and satellite programs clearly demonstrate the commitment of the College in its outreach to the larger community and are compatible with the College’s primary purpose of providing theological education.

The members of the faculty of Newman Theological College constitute a collaborative community of faith and learning. The teaching faculty are well qualified, nationally and internationally trained, and committed to the mission of the College. The College is also assisted in its mission by a large variety of well qualified and experienced sessional instructors.



The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, as the major governing body of the Newman Theological College Corporation, oversees the governance of the College's operations and its financial administration. The Board also appoints the academic and administrative personnel of the College.

2013-2014 Membership

Most Rev. Richard Smith - Archbishop of Edmonton, Chair

Dr. Jason West - President/ Academic Dean

Rev. Stefano Penna - Vice-President for College Advancement & Development (Sabbatical)

Mr. Paul Gagne - Vice-Chair

Rev. Stephen Hero - Rector for St. Joseph Seminary

Rev. Dr. Don MacDonald O.F.M. - Faculty

Mrs. Marion Haggarty-France
Mr. Jamie Hodgson
Mr. Kevin Feehan
Rev. Terry Kersch, C.S.B.
Mrs. Angela Veters
Dr. Tom Ranieri
Mrs. Amanda Villetard
Mrs. Marie Stelmach
Mrs. Lorna Gawlinski


The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Newman Theological College is responsible for the educational policies of the College. It concerns itself with policy making in areas such as curriculum programs and institutes, admission standards, awarding of degrees, diplomas and student bursaries.

2013-2014 Membership

Dr. Jason West - President/ Academic Dean

Mr. Kevin Feehan - Chancellor

Mrs. Maria Saulnier - Registrar

Rev. Stephen Hero - Rector for St. Joseph Seminary

Mrs. Laura Thibert
Rev. Dr. Eileen Conway
Dr. Andrij Hornjatkevyc
Rev. Dr. David Norman O.F.M.
Sr. Anne Rajotte, C.S.J.
Dr. Robert Sheard
Mrs. Angela Veters
Sr. Dr. Louise Zdunich, N.D.C.

The Foundation of St. Joseph Seminary & Newman Theological College

Charitable Registration Number 89348 1465 001

The Foundation is established to carry on all activities dedicated to the advancement of the following goals: theological education, priestly formation of seminarians, and other purposes of a charitable nature beneficial to Newman Theological College and St. Joseph Seminary and to the community as a whole. Its goals are to raise and distribute funds for the purpose of carrying out the missions of the Seminary and College in conformity with the policies established by the Board of Governors of Newman Theological College and the Board of Regents of St. Joseph Seminary.

Board of Governors

Most Rev. Richard Smith: Archbishop of Edmonton, Chair
Dr. Jason West President
Rev. Stephen Hero: Seminary Rector
Mrs. Amanda Villetard Treasurer
Mr. Brendan Kenny
Mr. W. Donald Goodfellow, Q.C.
Mr. Michael Norris

Foundation Staff

Mrs. Connie Lunde: Executive Director
Mrs. Carla Smiley: Planned Giving Coordinator
Mrs. Anna Jaremko: Annual Campaigns & Special Events Coordinator
Ms. Joan Harrison: Temporary Annual Campaigns & Special Events Coordinator
Ms. Roxanne Werbicki: Administrative Assistant
Ms. Gail Colwill: Administrative Assistant
Mrs. Theresa Lachance: Administrative Assistant